Breakfast

I am an ambassador of culture.

2 Comments

Lately I’ve been experiencing a great thirst for travel, especially abroad.  I’ve never ben overseas, or even out ofthe country really (to Canada once for about an hour).  I’ve grown restless inside the American bubble.

So, naturally, I jumped at the chance to be a cultural ambassador for the summer’s Institute on Women’s Leadership.  I’ll be a mentor to a female student participant (participants are from Egypt and Morocco) and will be responsible for providing a typical “American” experience.  Although I won’t be travelling, I am absolutely thrilled for the experience of meeting and learning from someone with undoubtedly different life experiences than mine.

Our mentees arrive next week, and today I received my assignment.  She studies law in Egypt, and from her brief bio, I can tell we have similar interests.  My main worry is that I will probably come across as a competely ignorant American and fulfill some unpleasant American stereotypes – oh, I hope not.  At least we’ll both be able to learn from each other, I’m sure.

2 thoughts on “I am an ambassador of culture.

  1. We can’t really help but be ignorant Americans at this stage in our life. Sad, but true. The least we can do is be respectful.

  2. Just be yourself.

Leave a Reply

