Breakfast

Slowing Down

Leave a comment

I had a busy afternoon ahead of me after work today.  Although I knew I had to do some reading for my thesis research, there were a few things I needed to take care of around the house first.

Last night I was in a bit of a haze (which wasn’t helped by the summer festivities going on in a nearby apartment from about 3 to 4:30am), so I fell into an on-and-off sleep and left my place in a bit of a mess (oops).  Plus, I had to do damage control after spider hunting.  What?

Yes, I had a not-too-big-but-still-big-enough-for-me-to-care eight-legged creature (gag) clinging to the wall high above my front door last night.  I went my usual route and decided to smoke him out until he traveled low enough for me to attempt smashing him with a lower risk of him getting the best of me — if they’re too far above your head, they almost always have the upper hand, you know.

(I do sincerely apologize if anyone reading this is offended by my bug-killing antics.  I understand the perspective of those who think this sort of behavior is cruel and unwarranted, but I have very, very severe arachnophobia, and rather than deal with this problem in a healthy way, I have to do this in order to sleep at night.  I hope you understand.)

So, I broke out the hair spray.  I’ve discovered this works better than wasp spray, which is the other option I have in my house (that still played a small role in the task last night), because it both weakens the spider with its toxic fumes and makes it more difficult for the little guy to cling to the ceiling or wall in the same spot.  On some occasions, it will simply freeze him up all together, and that’s the end of it.

Now, you have to be mindful of where you are spraying because hair spray is pretty sticky and such.  I’m not allowed to use this method at my parents’ house anymore, I think, after my dad figured out what I was doing.  But honestly, in such a dire situation as this, I have to use what works QUICKLY.

So, I did what I had to do.  Thus, this afternoon I had to clean all the grainy residue off my floor and shelves.  All clean now, and no harm done.

Then my friend Vanessa and I headed to the store to pick up a few things, mainly flowers for our potting project:

No longer will visitors be welcomed by foreboding dead plants at my doorstep!

After our hard work, Vanessa and I treated ourselves to India Palace for dinner (can’t wait to eat my leftovers) and then invaded our friend Casey’s house for a little Real Housewives action – the New York ladies, to be exact.  We spent the whole time wishing there were less people on earth who acted like them.  Psychotic.

Then I came home to whip up potato salad for a fun picnic with my friends tomorrow.  I didn’t want to go with the traditional mayonnaise (mainly because I don’t like it), so I tried this really simple bacon ranch style recipe. It’s not exactly a super healthy dish anyway, but I went with light sour cream to at least help a little.  I made more than would fit in one container, so I was able to make one batch with bacon and a vegetarian one.

All in all, taking things a little slower today reminded me about the importance of forgiving a little bit of leisure and letting myself take a break every now and then.  I’ve been so busy that I think I deserve it!  It was nice that what began as a busy day full of to-dos was actually full of relaxing and fun activities.  Who knew.

And, speaking of allowing myself a few indulgences, I know exactly what sounds good right about now…

Leave a Reply

