Breakfast

Tig

1 Comment

I mentioned before how much I loved Tig Notaro’s 2012 set, as does everyone who has heard it, duh. She’s fantastic.  I listened to it twice in like a week after I started treatment. I made my brother listen to it, and my mom. And Friday her documentary came out on Netflix. I don’t know if it makes more sense or less sense to be really excited to watch a film about someone having cancer when you have cancer… but it’s the first thing I want to watch as soon as I’m done with the bar exam next week. Cancer documentary watch party, anyone?

A friend sent me the NY Times review, and I loved this:

“As soon as I was diagnosed with cancer, everything came across to me as funny… It was just so ridiculous.”

That is exactly how I felt, after having just watched my aunt go through this for so long and losing her, and then suddenly oh, it’s your turn! At a certain point the humor just becomes so apparent. And I don’t think it’s just a coping mechanism; that implies using humor to run away from the scariness. I think the humor is just truth.

One thought on “Tig

  1. Kelly,

    You are in our daily thoughts and prayers. You could not be more right-humor is truth, and I hope you continue to find healing through humor. Your perspective through all of this is truly remarkable. I love you very much. If you feel so inclined, I would greatly appreciate your mailing address to send a little sunshine your way. You can e-mail it to: kristakobe@gmail.com. Good luck with the bar. You are SO close! You got this.

    -Krisra

Leave a Reply

